Forum is created, but students cannot make comments.

Forum is created, but students cannot make comments.

by Danny Vaughn -
Number of replies: 17

Hello:

I am fairly new to Moodle and actually have several questions, although it appears I will have to address each to separate Forums. I have created a Forum link in our courses, but upon allowing a student user to access the course, they can see the Forum, open it, read my comments, but their does not appear to be any way for them to respond. We are currently using an earlier version (2.1), but I do not see this as the issue since we were able to create the Forum in this version. I have looked at switches under the define Roles window, but I do not have any success allowing students to respond.

Cordially,

Danny Vaughn

Post Script: We will ultimately be upgrading our software to version 2.4, but since Moodle does not appear to be backward compatable, we are concerned that we must first load 2.2 followed by 2.3, followed by 2.4. Very concerning.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Danny Vaughn

Re: Forum is created, but students cannot make comments.

by Helen Foster -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi Danny,

Please see the Forum FAQ for an answer to the question 'Why are students unable to post in the forum?' If you have any further questions, please shout!

I'm not sure exactly what you are concerned about regarding Moodle versions. If you've not done so already, please feel free to post in an appropriate forum about them.

In reply to Helen Foster

by Danny Vaughn -

Dear Helen: