Questions abou using "oohoo - Tab display"

Re: Questions abou using "oohoo - Tab display"

by Rodney Wolford -
Number of replies: 6

No -- Thank You! This makes one of my two problems go away. As far as posting issues, I will be sure to do so in the future. As a Newbie I'm still learning my way around the community.

Thanks again,

Rod Wolford

In reply to Rodney Wolford

by Nicolas Bretin -

Hi Rod,

Sorry I forgot to answer to your second problem!

The only solution that I have is a little trick on your theme because the tab display can not modify the layout of other pages.

The trick is to add in the theme a condition that said: if the param "embed" in the URL exists and is set to 1 force the layout to embed (Of course you need to have a embedded layout in your theme)

In your theme, file renderers.php, in the constructor, add:

public function __construct(\moodle_page $page, $target)
    {
        //Force embedded layout if param embed is active
        $embed = optional_param('embed', 0, PARAM_INT);
        if($embed == 1)
        {
            $page->set_pagelayout('embedded');
        }

parent::__construct($page, $target);
    }

And you just have to call the page with an extra param embed=1 in the URL like http://mymoodle/mod/page/view.php?id=123&embed=1

I hope this will help you!

Nicolas Bretin

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Nicolas Bretin

by Rodney Wolford -

Hi Nicolas,

Sorry I didn't answer sooner. I was busy trying to get other parts of our site ready for testers to review.

Initially, I opted out of using the Tabs Display because I couldn't solve the emedding issue. Instead, I used a pop-up window that users would flip to while answering questions using the ALT + TAB keys. A very unsatisfying solution.

However, now that this fall back position is operational for the current review, I have turned to your recommendation as I know it will provide superior results. Unfortunately, I am unable to make it work ... YET!