General developer forum

Picture of Alan Hess
Save Javascript Array to DB - Patch or new Module?
Group Particularly helpful Moodlers

Hi

I need a little friendly advice. I'm doing some linguistic research which uses an interactive Webpage (HTML/Javascript) which can be called in a Moodle course as an uploaded HTML file with associated js and css files. The associated javascript stores data in an array 'text[n]' which records the alterations learners make to an existing framework text in an assisted creative writing session.

See http://manxman.ch/moodle2/file.php/5/Newgames/demogame-en-expand/Story.html for a basic demo. It works fine!

I have very little PHP knowledge but OK in Javascript. From what I can see the strings $USER and $COURSE could be stored and retrieved in MYSQL along with a dump of the text array?  I don't need much more functionality than that as learners progress to creating texts from scratch in a Wiki later. They only need to recall the state of their own mods at the next login. At the moment we copy and paste into a stored file.

Would a source code patch be the easiest method or would I have to develop a whole new Module or Question Type? Any pointers?

Best regards

Alan

Switzerland

Average of ratings: -
Tim at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Re: Save Javascript Array to DB - Patch or new Module?
Group DevelopersGroup Documentation writersGroup Particularly helpful Moodlers

One way to do this would be to turn your HTML + JS + CSS into a 'SCORM package'. If you do that, then your JavaScript can communicate with Moodle (or any other SCORM-compliant LMS) and store things like that array you want to store.

If you Google "SCORM tutorial" then that seems to find some things.

Average of ratings:Useful (1)
Picture of Alan Hess

Aha! - Thanks Tim. It looks promising and will start experimenting.

Alan

Picture of Alan Hess