General help

Picture of Stephen Watson
User hierarchy

Hello I am new to moodle, and have tried to do various searches to find the answer but to no avail.

What I would like to achieve is this in terms of user profile organisation:

a root (UK)

with counties below (Yorkshire,Lancashire,Cumbria)

with each county having various cities

and each city having various companies

no here is the tricky bit. I would like to put an administrater at every level that can view all the way down the tree in terms of results, but also to be able to attach courses and have those filter down the tree as well.

Any Help with ideas on how to achieve this would be fantastic,

thanks

Steve

Average of ratings: -
Mary Cooch
Re: User hierarchy
Group Documentation writersGroup Moodle Course Creator Certificate holdersGroup Moodle HQGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup TestersGroup Translators

HI Stephen. I heard you shouting - you are in Blackpool; I am in Prestonsmile Just to let you know I am moving your question from the lounge (which is for social chat) to the General problems forum where you should get more specific help.

Picture of Howard Miller
Group DevelopersGroup Documentation writersGroup Particularly helpful Moodlers

If you organise this structure as Course Categories, you can then add a 'Manager' (not an administrator) to the appropriate Course Category and they will have full control of that category, its subcategories and all their courses.

When looking at a Course Category page, look for 'Assign roles' in the settings.

Hi Howard,

Thanks for the reply. I can't seem to get this wroking.

I have created 3 catagories (Training > UK > Internal Staff) each has a manager. I have attached a course to Training. I have assigned the role of student to a user in both UK and Internal Staff however they cannot enroll on the course.

(They can also see the full category structure which is another issue I will need to address before going live)

Mary Cooch