Programming with Eclipse

Re: Programming with Eclipse

by Dean Leggo -
Number of replies: 7

Thank you to everyone for the help. smile

I was following the instructions on the Moodle docs. Setting up Eclipse. Because I was not 100% sure on the programs they offered I went to the Eclipse Marketplace, searched 'php' and it gave me 68 results!

The whole Setting up Eclipse needs to be re-done.

• Installing plugins need to change to PDT
  • General and PHP Settings is for PHPeclipse
  • SSH2, CVS Settings and Checking out code has changed to Git

I'll firstly learn how Git works before I try to add it to Eclipse. Branches everywhere tongueout

I'll try re-writing the 'Installing plugins' section tomorrow. I don't know enough to write anything else.

In reply to Dean Leggo

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi Dean,

I've been using ECLIPSE for quite a few years now and find it quite user-friendly for developing PHP projects (local host under Windows). When Moodle was updatable through its CVS repository, I used to do my updates from within the ECLIPSE environment.

Now that Moodle has switched to a GITHUB repository, I no longer do my Moodle updates from ECLIPSE, because as far as I understand there is no stable GIT plugin available in ECLIPSE. Or there wasn't one last time I tried.

Joseph

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Joseph Rézeau

by David Bezemer -

An official plugin has already been released for Eclipse, available at http://www.eclipse.org/egit/

developed by GitHub and various other Eclipse pro's I havent had any issues with this plugin

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Dean Leggo

by Michael Aherne -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers