Upgrade Script Says No Upgrade Needed

Upgrade Script Says No Upgrade Needed

by Mike Sangray -
Number of replies: 9

I am trying to upgrade my moodle site from 2.3.1+ to the latest stable version. I have installed git and gone through the upgrade steps, but I when run the upgrade script I get a message that says "No upgrade needed for the installed version 2.3.1+ (Build: 2012726). Thanks for coming anyway!"

This is my first attempt at upgrading Moodle. My initial install over the summer was a fresh install.

Also, this is on a Linux CentOS 6 box.

Thanks for any help.

Mike

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mike Sangray

Re: Upgrade Script Says No Upgrade Needed

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

By 'upgrade script', do you mean the script in /moodle/admin/cli/?

Try this as root user and assuming 'typical' CentOS 6 apache install):

cd /var/www/html/moodle/

fgrep '$release' version.php

will show your current version and build date.

git pull [ENTER]

If you see it 'pull down' new files it's getting updated.  Might want to check permissions on files as you've executed as root user.

Then hit the site via Web browser and login as an admin level user to complete the update.

'spirit of sharing', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by Mike Sangray -

Okay, I've made some progress and now I'm getting a plugins check error. The plugins check is failing and listing 3 plugins that need to be updated, but when I go to download the updated plugins I can't find them.

Database auto-linking  /filter/data  
Glossary auto-linking  /filter/glossary
Assignment upgrade helper  /admin/tool/assignmentupgrade  

I'm not sure where to download these from if I can't find them searching Moodle plugins

Attachment moodle plugins check.png
In reply to Mike Sangray

by Ken Task -

Those are part of Moodle core ... don't think they are available via download sepearately.