General help

Picture of Mark Hardwick
How to build an online course?

Hi,

I've been using Moodle quizzes for about two years now in conjunction with our face to face training we offer.  I'm now building our first online course and before I devote the time and resources for it I want to make sure I'm headed in the right direction.

Is there a guide to building online courses that gives several options of components that can be used?  I've tried searching these forums for a general guide but I may not be typing in the right search words.

Could anyone give me a general description of what an online course looks like and the components they use?

Thanks,

Mark

Moodle 2.24    

Average of ratings: -
Mary Cooch
Re: How to build an online course?
Group Documentation writersGroup Moodle Course Creator Certificate holdersGroup Moodle HQGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup TestersGroup Translators

Hello Mark. Well, there is no right or wrong answer really because an online course is what you want it to be. Some are just a load of powerpoints, static resources, while others are much more interactive with videos conferencing, peer assessment activities. It really depends on your preferences and the client's needs and the subject of your learning. It might be good to look at example courses (even though they aren't designed for totally online use) to give you some ideas of structure and activities. So you could:

1. go to http://school.demo.moodle.net/ which is a demo school site and which has lots of working courses with students. Although it is guest access, you need really to log in as a student (username student, password moodle) to try out the activities and see how it operates. While it might not be your subject or age range, you will get a good idea of Moodle's potential
  2. Search MOOCH  hub.moodle.org which is a huge collection of courses people have donated - download one to your own Moodle and examine it; that might give you some inspiration too.