General help

Backup

Picture of Shailesh Sharma
Backup

Hi to all, Is there any way to see how to perform back up in Moodle. I am in urgent need of this concept need your help. I am currently using 2.2.3 version. Any Suggestion would be helpful. Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
Re: Backup

Hi Visvanath, I am new to Moodle platform, it seems to be a bit confusing related to backup procedure. As a admin what is your view regarding backup, which one must be backup first among these. 1) Site. 2) Course. Need your assistance to move forward to it. Thank you.

Picture of Visvanath Ratnaweera
Group Particularly helpful Moodlers
Hi Shailesh

Correct, they are two things:
1) Site
http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Site_backup
http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Site_restore

2) Course.
http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Course_backup
http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Course_restore

There is no preferred method. Some are happy with one, others do both - and yet
others do nothing(!). The choice is yours.

You'll find all the details in those wiki pages.

Hi Visvanath,

I am new to this Moodle platform. What will you suggest if you get the same issue. You have been working for many days over it.

I need to know your point of view as soon as possible as i need to end this task till today itself.(Deciding )

Thanks

Hi Shailesh

I don't see an issue. You asked, "Is there any way to see how to perform back up in Moodle". The wiki pages mentioned above describe how.

Picture of curt bixel

Visvanath,

Can you tell me about how long a course backup should take?  It is taking about 22 minutes to back up my one course.  The completed backup file is about 250MB.  Everything else on the site runs lightning fast.  It happens to be my own website with my own moodle installation, and only my 3 classes, only one of which I am currently using and attempting to back up.

Hi

I never use site backups, therefore can't say whether 22 min are normal.

But reading this:
===