General help

Picture of Susana L.
Assign cohort to system role

As an admin I can't find a way to assign a group of users (let's say a system level cohort) to a system role. Does anyone know how to do that?

Thank you!

Moodle 2.2

Average of ratings: -
Mary Cooch
Re: Assign cohort to system role
Group Documentation writersGroup Moodle Course Creator Certificate holdersGroup Moodle HQGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup TestersGroup Translators
Just wondering if you could explain why you need to assign them to a system role?

Picture of Susana L.

Hi Mary,

We don't want students to access private files while they are having final exams. We found some options:

1. Disable private files on moodle site... sad

2. Only allow teachers to have access to their private files... for that we have to create a system role with capabilities moodle/user:manageownfiles and repository/user:view to prohibit, and assign all students to that role. https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=214934#p936182 (Thanks!)

3. Temporarily disable access to the group of students enrolled in course XYZ that will have the exam. And for that, we also have to create a system role with the capabilities mentioned on 2. and assign the students of that course... and the problem is how to easily assign 300 students to that role!? Well, It is easy to create a cohort with those students (just select all users enrolled as students in XYZ and add them to a previously created cohort)... and now I just need to assign that cohort to the system role... I thought it would be straightforward!... but I was wrong (?)... Do you know any way to accomplish this?

This 3rd option would be the preferred one, because private files were only disabled temporarily and for a restricted group of students...

Thank you!

Picture of Susana L.

Actually the 3rd option is not the preferred one... This is the preferred one:
https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=215765