Safebrowser loophole? or am i wrong?

Safebrowser loophole? or am i wrong?

wót Rajiv Agarwal -
Anzahl Antworten: 14
hi i am a total novice at this, we are just testing 2.3 on ubuntu and are gradually rolling it out for our students. I was just exploring using the Safebrowser for our quizzes, for our students to use on their laptops. The basic idea was, that i configure the safebrowser software for the PC and Mac versions, and put this as a download on our moodle site, and then let the students use it for all their quizzes. while i was setting this up, i was wondering, if the students could simply bypass the security of my configured safebrowser, and just download another instance of the browser and reconfigure it so as to allow all the privileges, (ALT+TAB etc) thus avoiding the security completely, and use their "free usage" browser. The students are smart enough to know the browser name and can download it externally also... From what i can make out, the moodle site just needs a safebrowser to open it, not necessarily the pre-configured one, which i have made for them. Is this right or am i missing something? Apologies in advance, if i have missed something very obvious, but would be grateful if anyone could tell me what i have missed, since i am not able to figure this out!
Als Antwort auf Rajiv Agarwal

Re: Safebrowser loophole? or am i wrong?

wót Tim Hunt -
Nutzerbild von Core developers Nutzerbild von Documentation writers Nutzerbild von Particularly helpful Moodlers Nutzerbild von Peer reviewers Nutzerbild von Plugin developers
You are right. The relevant code is the check_safe_browser method in mod/quiz/accessrule/safebrowser/rule.php. As you can see, that is woefully insecure. You should be able to change that to something better.

wót Mary Evans -
Nutzerbild von Core developers Nutzerbild von Documentation writers Nutzerbild von Peer reviewers Nutzerbild von Plugin developers Nutzerbild von Testers