How to locate/find a file (Moodle 2.2)

How to locate/find a file (Moodle 2.2)

by Ulrike Albers -
Number of replies: 12

Hallo,

I'm new to Moodle 2.2, and I find it a little difficult to understand the repository system. As I can't see in the path to a file where it is located (or can I ?), could anybody help me with the following:

I need to find out why some files aren't shown, so the first thing I should do is look if the file is where it is supposed to be. But how can I access it ? How can I locate it ?

Thank you for your help, it must be a quite stupid question but I just can't figure it out  sad

Ulrike

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ulrike Albers

Re: How to locate/find a file (Moodle 2.2)

by Frédéric Massart ⭐ -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hello Ulrike,

when you mention repository, do you mean a specific one or the whole system in general?

If you are talking about the repository system itself, files are stored in the moodledata folder under filedir. But, you won't be able to find them as they are stored using their hash and not their file name.

Some files/repositories do not show up in certain circonstances depending on:

• The repository being browsed
  • The area you are picking a file to
  • The type of the file

Let's say you are editing a description and click to add an image, the file picker will not displays files which are not images.

If you feel comfortable browsing your database, you can explore the table mdl_site and identify the hash those files are stored under. Then you will be able to find them in the moodledata directory.

Cheers!

Fred

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Frédéric Massart ⭐

by Ulrike Albers -

Hello Frederic,

Thanks a lot for your answer !

I see here are two problems

1. me understanding the system (I start to understand the principles though, thanks !)

2. the Moodle site/configuration I have to work with (I can't see any files)