Grading essays in Moodle Lesson

Grading essays in Moodle Lesson

بواسطة - Rachel Smith
عدد الردود: 12

HI there! I'm a teacher and a Moodle newbie. I've created a lesson in Moodle 2.2. My students answered some questions, essay questions, and when I went to view them under "grade essays" nothing shows up. I watched them typing in the responses, so I know they did the work. In addition, when I go to "reports," it says "not completed." I'm not sure what to do. I'd like to be able to read their responses. I was thinking that perhaps I chose an incorrect setting when I created the lesson. I understand how to edit a question/essay, but can't figure out how to edit the lesson's settings.

متوسط التقييمات: -
رداً على Rachel Smith

Re: Grading essays in Moodle Lesson

بواسطة - Karen Arksey

I have experienced a similar issue, we are on Moodle 2.3.  I found that students had to actually complete the lesson before the essay was available for grading.  Seems rather a strange thing especially when they click the submit button and receive the response that it has been submitted for grading and they still have have a lot of pages to work through before they get to the end of the lesson.

رداً على Karen Arksey

بواسطة - Joseph Rézeau
صورة Core developers صورة Particularly helpful Moodlers صورة Plugin developers صورة Testers صورة Translators

1.- Karen "I found that students had to actually complete the lesson before the essay was available for grading."

The reasons for this behaviour are explained in MDL-4174. And the conclusion is that "teacher cannot grade until student has finished the attempt". This is logical.

2.- Karen "Seems rather a strange thing especially when they click the submit button and receive the response that it has been submitted for grading and they still have have a lot of pages to work through before they get to the end of the lesson."