$mform and form elements syntax??

$mform and form elements syntax??

by Paul Caliban -
Number of replies: 5

Syntax Question:
I am new to Working on a Moodle form  $mform stuff.

The BACKGROUND

Build test Form that has two fields  'email' and 'username'

'username' is Hidden !!

The GOAL

I would like the see the user type a value for 'email'
and
then trigger (perhaps - onblue or onchange or onSubmit; byID) or some method;
push the 'email' value into>> the 'hidden username' field?

The QUESTION??

What is the proper technique and/or syntax??
GIVEN:
 $mform->addElement('text', 'email', get_string('email'), 'maxlength="100" size="25"');
 $mform->addElement('hidden', 'username', null);

// can I call onblur or onchange of element email; put that value into hidden username field
// or some form of:  var da_element = document.getElementById("email");

$mform->setDefault('username', da_element.value );

or????????

$mform->setDefault('username', document.getElementById("email").value );

or

$mform->setDefault('username', $this->myformname['email']);

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paul Caliban

Re: $mform and form elements syntax??

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
This seems like a lot of hard work, not to mention it would have to be written in Javascript and would stop working if that was switched off.

Would it not be easier to just copy the username from the email at the point where the submitted form is processed?
In reply to Davo Smith

by Paul Caliban -

Thanks

Yep a craZy client request.

By Copy I assume you mean you want the "USER" to SELF copy   via Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V

I agree, but the client does not want to even show the PROMPT for username and wants the software to populate that field behind the curtain.