quiz questions marked 'wrong' when answers are correct

quiz questions marked 'wrong' when answers are correct

by Susan Fleming -
Number of replies: 25

Hello

Since upgrading from 1.9 to 2.2.4 we have been getting regular reports of quiz answers being marked 'wrong' even though they are correct (see attachment).  Since this is a quiz where punctuation and spacing do make the difference between a correct and incorrect answer, we check VERY carefully when students report quizes being marked incorrectly.

Anyone else experiencing this?  Any suggestions?  Since I am fairly new to Moodle any help is appreciated.

Susan

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Susan Fleming

Re: quiz questions marked 'wrong' when answers are correct

by Jean-Michel Védrine -

Hello susan,

Looking carefully at your screengrabs, I see something strange in the student's response : there seems to be a change in the baseline between the first character and the others characters in the response.

baseline shift

I wonder if there is a hidden HTML tag (or something like that) in the student response ? This would explain why the response is marked wrong. Can you look at the page sourcecode to see if my guess is correct or not ?

After that if I am correct, you will have to find why some students include strange things in their responses wide eyes.

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi Susan,

This is a really weird kind of answer.mixed What type of question is it: short answer? numerical? Rather than a screenshot it would be useful if you posted the complete actual question text and expected answers.

Joseph

EDIT.- Hi Jean-Michel; not yet on the beach?big grin

In reply to Joseph Rézeau

by Jean-Michel Védrine -

Yes Joseph is right, I was thinking it was shortanswers questions but it would be good to give us the question's type.