LMS Comparison -- What can Moodle do?

LMS Comparison -- What can Moodle do?

by Eva Lorentz -
Number of replies: 8

Hello!

I'm an intern with a government agency. We're considering several options for a new LMS, and Moodle is one of them. I've been tasked with completing the comparison report--after exploring the documents and forums sections of moodle.org I've found information concerning most of our requirements, but there are some that I either couldn't find or that weren't clear. Here is the list:

1. Can a certificate of completion be automatically generated upon completion of a course, including employee (student) name and date/time of completion?
  2. Can a course be configured to save progress and indicate where an individual should resume work between logins?
  3. Can a teacher/admin restrict the order in which activities/topics are taken without the use of conditional grading?
  4. Is there capability to search for course codes? If so, and the code searched for does not exist, can Moodle be configured to generate an online "survey" with form/data collection for requested information to be sent to a chosen destination?
  5. Can a session of a course be deleted without deleting the entire course? Can courses be deleted?
  6. Can admins enter fields for contract amount/cost data and still be able to mark "no charge" on an individual level to generate calculated fields for breakeven? What about total contract cost (number of chargeable slots filled compared to contract cost/individual charge as breakeven point)?
  7. Are teacher and admin roles able to toggle fields to view employees (students) by alpha, date enrolled, etc.?
  8. Is there a way to put in specific trigger dates per session and/or course for email updates to a chosen destination? Can this be auto-generated?
  9. Is there a report/view that can be used to quickly see for any session or multiple sessions of the same course: #fully approved, #pending (supr), #pending (funds), #chargeable?