A way to add logo without writing code?

A way to add logo without writing code?

by Susan Miller-Curley -
Number of replies: 5

Hi - I am using Moodle 2.1 and looking to insert my logo into the header of my front page at the top.  Is there a way to do this without rewriting code?  I am just a teacher - not a programmer - thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Susan Miller-Curley

Re: A way to add logo without writing code?

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

You should not need to write any code. You could select a theme that supports a logo url as the afterburner theme (see picture). Or upload a new logo file to the appropriate directory for other themes that support a logo.

Make sure you turn theme designer on when you do this otherwise changes get cached and you will not see changes that have actually happened.

Attachment logoplace.jpg
In reply to Marcus Green

by Adrian Baker -

Hi there

I have just spent about an hour trying to do exactly what you said here with the Afterburner theme.

I went to the page you show, and put the correct url in the box for my logo. This was just a test logo to see how things worked... BUT, no matter what I try, the new logo won't appear and the 'Afterburner' default remains!

Any idea why this is? I'm using Moodle 2.3 and am getting very frustrated.

Does the logo you replace the original with have to be an exact size? If so, can I change this?

Here's the logo I was using... or trying to use!

http://bscphysics.co.uk/moodlebackup/Physicslogo.gif

Hope you can help

Thanks

In reply to Adrian Baker

by Mary Evans -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi,

When working on your theme you need to enable Theme Designer Mode in the theme settings page Site Administration > Appearance > Themes > Theme settings