Lessons vs. Quizzes

Lessons vs. Quizzes

by Mark Hardwick -
Number of replies: 29

Hi,

I've been using the Moodle quiz module now for nearly two years but have not used the lesson module at all.  Is there a simple answer or guideline on when the lesson module would be more effective than the quiz module and the benefits of a lesson?  If the lesson asks a question why would you put it in a lesson rather than a quiz?  Does a quiz have limits on what can be inserted vs. a lesson?

I’m sure these are basic questions but any input about building a lesson would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mark Hardwick

Re: Lessons vs. Quizzes

by Paula Clough -

Mark,

I hope I can answer your question.  For information about setting up the Lesson, you can go to http://docs.moodle.org/23/en/Lesson_module in Moodle Docs.  

The lesson is most often used to deliver content.  It has the capability to have questions to help measure the learning with questions.  The lesson can be set up to take students to more content depending on their answers to the questions.  So if a student picks the correct answer, it will take them on to new content.  If a student choses an incorrect answer that shows a specific misunderstanding, it will take them to content that will help fix the misconception. It also has a table of contents available if enabled so that students can refer back to the content latter if they would like. This kind of flow would be fairly difficult to set up in a quiz. 

Paula Clough cool

Average of ratings:Useful (1)
In reply to Paula Clough

by Glenys Hanson -

Hi Mark,

You can also do what Lesson does in Moodle 1.9 with Hot Potatoes exercises delivered through QuizPort.

Cheers,

Glenys

In reply to Paula Clough

by Michael Penney -

It has the capability to have questions to help measure the learning with questions.