First time install- [[cannotcreatedb]]

First time install- [[cannotcreatedb]]

by David Yarwood -
Number of replies: 6

Hi there,

This is my first time installing, having a few problems. I've been through the forum and it appears others have had this problem, however I cannot find a solution, hense the new post.

I'm installing 2.2.2 but cannot get past the database settings page.

I've selected localhost, entered the username and password.

I can access the database through phpMyAdmin so it is there!

The installer has not yet created a config.php file, so I have tried creating one manually, however this results in a blank page on the next screen.

I'd be really grateful for any help, I feel I'm on the edge of my technical abilities.

David

Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Yarwood

Re: First time install- [[cannotcreatedb]]

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Would help to know a little more about the system ... operating system ... and if this is a remotely hosted solution and installed by a 'magic button' or server which is administered locally.

Sounds like a permissions issue on the moodle folder at web root.  If running Linux on Redhat/CentOS, the moodle folder at web root (regardless of how it was created: cvs, git, or unzipped by root user some files and folders become tagged as belonging to the root user - which Apache cannot read and will not serve [or shouldn't]).  Folder for the Moodle and all files/folders contained therein have to be owned by user 'apache' and group 'apache'.

phpmyadmin might show a db but does the db contain tables?

'spirit of sharing', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by David Yarwood -

Many thanks for the reply Ken. It is remotely hosted but it is a shared server which is why I'm having problems. 

I shall try again with the permissions.

All the best,

David

by Ken Task -