Successful implementations Moodle 2.2+

Successful implementations Moodle 2.2+

by Daniel Brouse -
Number of replies: 16

Often the forums are filled questions and comments regarding Moodle noe working as expected. I have enjoyed many years of Moodle installations that I have administered that outperform my college's "official" LMS implementation.

I am planning on migrating to the newest version of Moodle soon. Lack of PHP 5.3+ has been a limiting factor on my hosted site.

I am curious about the different successful soltutions for Moodle 2.2+ that are being used. I am particularly interested in stable small Moodle sites that are inexpensive (I am an instructor and pay for all the costs associated with my site) but would be interested to learn about medium sized and larger implementations also. If you are willing to share can you list:

1) The size of your Moodle installation:

a) Active courses

b) Average course size

c) estimated maximum number of concurent users

2) Your server solution

a) Example options: Self managed server, Managed Dedicated Server, VPS, Shared hosting, ect.

b) If you managed the physical server, what hardware and environment stack do you use?

c) If you have a managed solution - who manages it? What is your monthly/yearly hosting cost?

3) Features/activities of Moodle that are significantly used.

a) core features/activities that are utilized by your site

b) plugins and/or complementary programs that are used.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Daniel Brouse

Re: Successful implementations Moodle 2.2+

by Daniel Brouse -

I'm going to reply to demonstrate what I am hoping for and to share my Moodle implementation. I am currently using Moodle 2.0.7 but part of this post is to gather information on how I would like to setup a site using the most current version of Moodle.

a) Active courses - 5 that are used daily. Another 6 are available from recent classes for students to use as reference.