[GSoC 2012] Email reminders for Calendar Events

[GSoC 2012] Email reminders for Calendar Events

by Isuru Madushanka Weerarathna -
Number of replies: 5

Hi,

I am an undergraduate student of University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka, and I am really interested to participate in GSoC 2012 under Moodle since I have several experiences regarding Moodle development as well. There are two projects which I would like to take from the ideas page, but I know I can only work for one thing.

Anyway, I would like to work on the idea of Email reminders for calendar events which is already described in MDL-1329. The reason I like to take this is, this would be really important thing which I also would like to see in our university Moodle site. (http://lms.uom.lk) I have already contacted with the assigned mentor for this idea, Michael de Raadt, and I have already looked up on some of the references he has given to me at the contacting moment.

Any ideas which can add for this project, are very welcome.

-Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Isuru Madushanka Weerarathna

Re: [GSoC 2012] Email reminders for Calendar Events

by Danny Wahl -

I think that maybe instead of "email" you could try using "messaging" service and plug it into the current private message framework, then a user can determine whether or not they get messages in-moodle or via email.

In reply to Danny Wahl

by Isuru Madushanka Weerarathna -

Hi Daniel,

Sure it will be. I just used 'Email' word here because of the title of the project is said so. I have studied about the messaging API and actual implementation will be supported for any kind of messaging type in the moodle and it would be configurable and extendable for future usage too. Also, when I contacted with Michael he told me that it would be about creating a messaging interface as well.

So, you are right. Then I think the title should be changed in proper way, if I am correct.

-Thanks

by Serg Tolpygin -