Databases: Any measures against MySQL corruption?

Databases: Any measures against MySQL corruption?

by Enrique Castro -
Number of replies: 14
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers
Hi,

At ULPGC we are experiencing some problems with the database.  I am a teacher, not a sysadmin and have no experience with database performance.

We are having what I see as "a lot" of incidences due to corruption of database tables. Almost one per week, sometimes affecting several tables. Is this rate normal? We have Moodle 1.4.3 (2004083132) installed in a server with RH 8.1, Apache 2.0.46, MySQL 3.23.58 and PHP 4.3.2.  Our site is growing big, over 20.000 users, and with some courses enrolling all users.

Those episodes of table corruption can have significant results. For instance, all events displayed in the Calendar disappearing. Once the "News" forum replicated itself on every page loading, due to News block not able to read the table. Teachers phoned alarmed because a virus was replicating in the system. We have not experienced any data loss for the moment, and all have got fixed with a "repair". But those episodes scared people, and may send a message of Moodle as an "unstable" or "immature".

I am asking here advice from experienced database administrators. What kind of measures we may adopt to prevent, or at least detect early these faults?.

I have speculated with an script to check all tables in Moodle are running well. Something like a simple SQL statement that should return a known set of data, if not, there is something wrong with the table.  Can repair be run on a live database table? Is it possible to run a "repair" every night, with cron?

At least, such a script would indicate to the human admin every morning if there is any faulty table.

Are there any other pro-active measures we may take?

TIA,
- Enrique -

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Enrique Castro

Re: Databases: Any measures against MySQL corruption?