Moodle 2.2 on apache working with MS SQL db - problem with restoring the course

Moodle 2.2 on apache working with MS SQL db - problem with restoring the course

by Jaroslaw Jozwik -
Number of replies: 4

Hello

My name is Jarek Jozwik and I am new to moodle but have already installed a few instances for testing.

Our university decided to move to moodle, so we need to build a proper infrastructure.

After some testing and considerations we decided to go with moodle on redhat with apache, php, apc or xcache accelerator, unixodbc and freetds - all connected to MS SQL database on (obviously) windows server, cluster actually. I have managed to install and configure all and it is working quite nice but I hit a wall, one problem at the moment actually. Restoring the course from 1.9 version takes ages. All other things are okay - just this one.

From the trace I have performed on the database it is not a bottleneck. Problem is probably with apache, php or database driver - after course restoration starts one apache process show 99% of CPU. What is interesting it has no impact on whole server - everything else works fine.

We have also another server, with very similar configuration, except moodle works with mysql instead of ms sql. And there - the same course was restored in under 2 minutes.

The course contains pages, quizes, images, documents etc. Zip is around 8.5MB so it is not very large.

Has anyone encountered such problem? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

More info on request.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jaroslaw Jozwik

Re: Moodle 2.2 on apache working with MS SQL db - problem with restoring the course

by Alan Kmiecik -

I am trying to run Moodle 2.2 on a account hosted at Hostgator and am running into performance issues too.

Nothing as specific as Jarek, the system just seems to hang at times and, at other times, runs like a champ.