Advice on using HTML Block as a menu

Advice on using HTML Block as a menu

by Mike E. -
Number of replies: 17

I am relatively new to Moodle and I need some advice/direction on using the HTML Block to build navigation menus.

Here's the existing course I'm trying to replicate in Moodle:

I am trying to replicate the left-hand menu system of this course, and I've chosen to use HTML blocks as the easiest method. Below is a sample HTML block that I'm trying to recreate in Moodle. The sample menu is from the Motivation section.

Motivation Menu
> Unit 1. Introduction
> Unit 2. What Is Motivation?
> Unit 3. Analyzing Motivation & Goals
> Unit 4. Useful Goal Characteristics
      - Keeping A Motivation Journal
      - Analyzing Motivation Goals
      - Writing Your Eulogy
      - Personal Goals
      - Academic Goals
      - Social Goals
      - Occupational/Professional Goals
> Unit 5. Developing Useful Goals
> Unit 6. Self-Efficacy
> Unit 7. Attributions
> Unit 8. Internal & External Motivation
> Unit 9. Summary

Unit 4 Useful Goal Characteristics shows seven sub-topics, Keeping A Motivation Journal, Analyzing Motivation Goals, etc. Each of these sub-topics will refer to a page in Moodle, and each of these seven pages will have an HTML block that contains the same menu items.

It seems counterintuitive to have to recreate seven different HTML blocks so the menu can appear on each of the pages. It seems to make more sense to have one HTML block and then include that block on each of the pages. If a change to the HTML block must be made, it would seem more logical to do it in one place rather than on seven different pages.

This example is just one small section of the Moodle course. As you can see there are eight other Units that will have their own sub-items. I also have nine other major content areas that will have their own units and sub-items.

There must be a better way to reuse an HTML blocks. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike