Course backup fails to start

Course backup fails to start

by Nevin Reid -
Number of replies: 4
Hi,
  I'm new to using Moodle (Moodle 2.1.2+ (Build: 20111019)) and having a problem getting the backup to run on one particular course. We installed back in December 2011 and things were working fine up until after Christmas break when the person putting together the course reported that he could no longer run the backup. I had him create another course to see if it was something in his particular course. This new course backs up fine.

When I select his course and click the Backup option the browser works away for 20 seconds or so and then returns the following error:

Debug info: MySQL server has gone away
INSERT INTO mdl_backup_controllers (backupid,operation,type,itemid,format,interactive,purpose,userid,status,execution,executiontime,checksum,controller,timecreated,timemodified) VALUES(?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?)
[array (
0 => 'd86268a945dca889a4e91acc13ed1782',
1 => 'backup',
2 => 'course',
3 => 2,
4 => 'moodle2',
5 => 1,
6 => 10,
7 => '2',
8 => 500,
9 => 1,
10 => 0,
11 => 'fd9695337d95be6a31527db7f4cb9a28',
12 => 'TzoxNzoiYmFja3... (over 1.3 million characters removed from here)...  MTE6IgAqAGNoZWNrc3VtIjtzOjMyOiJmZDk2OTUzMzdkOTViZTZhMzE1MjdkYjdmNGNiOWEyOCI7fQ==',
13 => 1327582412,
14 => 0,
)]
Stack trace:

line 397 of \lib\dml\moodle_database.php: dml_write_exception thrown
    line 893 of \lib\dml\mysqli_native_moodle_database.php: call to moodle_database->query_end()
    line 935 of \lib\dml\mysqli_native_moodle_database.php: call to mysqli_native_moodle_database->insert_record_raw()
    line 69 of \backup\util\dbops\backup_controller_dbops.class.php: call to mysqli_native_moodle_database->insert_record()
    line 312 of \backup\controller\backup_controller.class.php: call to backup_controller_dbops::save_controller()
    line 137 of \backup\util\ui\base_ui.class.php: call to backup_controller->save_controller()