Moodle causing memory problems and crashing server

Moodle causing memory problems and crashing server

by Leon Philpot -
Number of replies: 6

I am brand new to all of this, so excuse my ignorance.  I have the following set up running currently.

AT&T Linux Virtual Dedicated Server with 512Mb memory.  Running Moodle 2.0.4 Build 20118017,  Apache/2.0.64 (Red Hat) unsure of Linux version.  PHP version 5.2.17.

MySQL db info is MySQL client version 5.1.45 server version 5.5.9 and protocol version 10.

Not sure what all of that means but under the phpMyAdmin control panel I get two error messages.  Thought I would include them in case these point to the problem: 1) The additional features for working with linked tables has been deactivated.  20 Your PHP MySQL library version 5.1.45 differs from your MySQL server version 5.5.9.  This may cause unpredictable behavior.

My problem is my server runs out of memory and locks up.  Many times it also locks up my shell program and the control panel causing me to have AT&T restart the server.  This temporarily fixes the problem as it resets everything freeing up the memory.  I have noticed when I am running the top command in the shell that the httpd processes seem to increase in size until they use all the memory.  AT&T technicians have told me they believe this to be a coding problem in Moodle's interaction with MySQL db.  The server will remain running for several days if no one is using Moodle.  However, most of the time I am the only user logged in and I am setting up additional users on Moodle and a few courses.  I have found that if I go slow and take my time between users the problem is not as bad,  but if I go quickly then the server will run out of memory in as little at 5-10 minutes.