enrol_db_autocreate option missing for course creation

enrol_db_autocreate option missing for course creation

by Greg Merchant -
Number of replies: 4

We have setup an external db with course information for auto course creation. We have this successfully setup on our 1.9 site but can't get it to work on our new 2.2 site. According to the "current" documentation there should be a yes/no drop down list for "enrol_db_autocreate" in the external database settings page but such a thing doesn't exist in our settings menu. Has something replaced this? Any thoughts.

Also, in the install php file under enrol/database there is this entry

85      unset_config('enrol_db_autocreate'); // replaced by new coruse temple sync
 86      if (isset($CFG->enrol_db_category)) {
 87          set_config('defaultcategory', $CFG->enrol_db_category, 'enrol_database');
 88          unset_config('enrol_db_category');

I'm not a programmer but this looks like this is undoing this option. Thoughts?

Greg

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Greg Merchant

Re: enrol_db_autocreate option missing for course creation

by Petr Skoda -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Hello,

in 2.x new courses are created when you fill in the external table with course details. The courses are crated when you execute the enrol/database/cli/sync.php script.

I was planning to add more options for configuration of cron actions and course creation during user login. It should be part of Moodle 2.3 and it might be even backported to some later Moodle 2.2.x

Petr
In reply to Petr Skoda

by Carlos Sánchez Martín -

Hello Petr,