Themes

Customizing front page in Moodle 2.x

Picture of Khaled Hassan
Customizing front page in Moodle 2.x

I am very new in moodle.Currently I am using Moodle 2.0 and I want to customize the front page. Now I can only set 4 items in front page before login.They are given bellow  

1.Combo list.                                                                                          

2. List of Courses.

3. News Items.

4. List of Categories.

But I want to customize it, want to add image and blocks(whatever I want in any position of the page) in front page . I think I have to change the content  in  core_renderer::MAIN_CONTENT_TOKEN in frontpage.php in theme/Layout folder. But it is difficult to understand for me how the MAIN_CONTENT_TOKEN changes eachtime when a new page is rendered.

Moreover in index.php there are 4 defined cases (FRONTPAGENEWS,FRONTPAGECOURSELIST,FRONTPAGECATEGORYNAMES,FRONTPAGECATEGORYCOMBO) . So I may have to change them too for moodle 2.x .So from where I should start to customize Moodle 2.x front page?

Best Regard 

Khaled

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Richard Oelmann
Re: Customizing front page in Moodle 2.x
Core developersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters

If you enable the Topic section on the front page, that will give you an html block that you can use to add many things onto your front page (Settings>Front Page Settings>Edit Settings>Include a topic section)

There are also several themes now available which have the ability to put blocks in other locations besides just the sides. 2 I have put in the plugins database are Lagomorph and MultiLayout/MultiStyled - multilayout acts as a parent for multistyled but could be used separately with a different child to style it however you want. These have 2 regions above and 2 below the main content area as well as the sidebars. The aardvark_postit theme also has different block regions - in that case in the profilebar.