Introduction, Opinions Needed

Introduction, Opinions Needed

by Amelia Franz -
Number of replies: 8

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading about and experimenting with Moodle for a couple of months now, and I'm very interested in creating a Moodle site, and eventually finding work as a course designer or Moodle administrator. My background is teaching, but I've been out of it for several years. I have an idea for a Moodle site, and I wonder if anyone here might be willing to give me your opinion on whether this sounds like a good/feasible idea, or not. 

I want to create a free online essay help and writing instruction site. Students in the "course" would simply upload their essays, along with a description of the assignment, and I would give them feedback on areas needing improvement. The site will have information on organization, writing mechanics, MLA style, common grammar errors, etc. I might also create some Hot Potatoes exercises. I would provide a similar service as a live writing tutor in a university writing lab, I suppose. 

I really am more interested in the Moodle-building itself, than the content. I simply chose the writing tutor idea because I'm a former English teacher, and I know the content well. 

I would appreciate any opinions offered. Thanks so much!

--Amelia Franz

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Amelia Franz

Re: Introduction, Opinions Needed

by Russell Waldron -

Amelia, there's plenty of demand for editorial advice and coaching at undergrad level here, and probably a good rationale for using every technical feature you can master in Moodle. In planning your service, you might want to consider the capabilities, limitations and flaws of EssayPunch.

In reply to Russell Waldron

by Amelia Franz -