ZPD Course Format based on Outcome progress

ZPD Course Format based on Outcome progress

by Brad Nielsen -
Number of replies: 6

Dear Moodle Community,

My name is Brad Nielsen. I am a university student studying Honours in Multimedia.  For my research thesis, I would like to develop Moodle extensions to assist in placing students in their Zone of Proximal Development. While my research is not required to be aligned with the current Moodle Roadmap, I would like to receive your feedback on my proposal as I am fairly new to Moodle development and I would like to develop something worthwhile for my thesis.

To assist in placing students within their Zone of Proximal Development, I propose to extend the current Moodle architecture for outcome-based learning in the following ways:

1. Develop a dynamic student-centred Course View in which content is prioritized (e.g sequenced, highlighted, faded or invisible) based on the progress of students through a sequence of course learning outcomes. Course outcomes are completed only when students have passed course outcome completion criteria set by the instructor – e.g. student has accumulated a set number of progress points across course outcome-related activities and/or achieved a designated accuracy target and/or completed all outcome-related activities.
  2. Develop a Building Block that assists students to monitor their progress towards course outcome completion.
  3. Develop a course outcome Input Form that allows instructors to sequence outcomes and set course outcome completion criteria – e.g. required progress points, required accuracy target, compulsory activity completion (y/n).
  4. Develop a Course Outcome Gradebook Report for students and instructors wishing to visualise the progress of students across course outcomes. Allow instructors to set a student’s initial outcome level and to allocate if a student should be explicitly placed in their ZPD – i.e. is the dynamic Course View active for the student.