Create a tree in my block

Create a tree in my block

by Olga Leonova -
Number of replies: 10

Hello! I fased with the problem in Moodle 2.0. I need to set up tree structure with links (similar to the Navigation block) in my new block. I tried to create a class that inherits from block_tree, but I don't know how to add items to the tree.

That I found in the documentation:

1. items This is an array of tree_item objects, representing the top level of the tree to be displayed. Each tree_item::children property may contain more tree_item objects for the next level down, which in turn contain more tree_item objects, and so on. Note that the tree block type has no footer.
I'm new to Moodle and PHP. 
Thank you in advance for your help! 
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Olga Leonova

Re: Create a tree in my block

by Mary Evans -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi,

If this is just a matter of creating a list of links, with sublinks you can do this quite simply using HTML and CSS. Examples of how can be found HERE.

Mary

In reply to Mary Evans

by Olga Leonova -

Hi, Mary! Thank you for your reply and links!

But the problem is that I need to some parent elements in the list can fold and unfold.

In reply to Olga Leonova

by Nicolas Dery -

Hi Olga,

I am also trying to accomplish the same thing. Currently I generate the list myself and  apply all the classes required (following either the Navigation or Settings block) to the appropriate item. What is not working is the fold and unfold thing.

I have found this page, which is not of any help, documentation for it has not been written yet. http://docs.moodle.org/dev/Blocks#Trees 

Have you by chance found a way ?

Thanks,

Nicolas

In reply to Mary Evans

by Kevin Burton -

It is probably due to my ignorance of CSS but these links bring up three questions that I hope you can help me with.