change admin's password

change admin's password

by Alex Saevich -
Number of replies: 94
Hi, everybody.
I've forgotten admin's password in my moodle instance. I have some experience in database adminestration, so i've found method to change admin's password rihgt in my MySql database (called moodle).
And when I connect to this db...like this,

admin -

I use new password and connection is successfull

but moodle doesn't see new password

what's wrong?

Sorry for my English.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Alex Saevich

Re: change admin's password

by Shane Elliott -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers
You have changed the password to access the database. Moodle user's (including the moodle admin) details are stored within the database.

If you need to reset your password, just click on the 'Send my details via email' button on the login page. Then enter your email address and an email will be sent to you with instructions for resetting the password.
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Shane Elliott

by Alex Saevich -
Thaks for feedback.

Some details. My moodle is newbie and all are in localhost.
I haven't any valid smtp parameters in my moodle. So, I cannot send any mail from moodle.

What can I do in this situation?
In reply to Alex Saevich

by Shane Elliott -
Two options for which you will need to access the database directly. (phpMyAdmin is great for doing all this rather than using command line mysql)

1. In the user table set the email field of the admin account to a localhost address eg root@localhost and then request a password reset for that address
Moodle will only use the SMTP settings if you have already set them. Otherwise it will use the internal PHP mail function. This should work fine for a local address.

2. Can you log in or set up a general user account? If so then have a look here:
http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=18034