Video tutorials repository

Video tutorials repository

by Julien Quester-Semeon -
Number of replies: 3

Hi,

I am very new to Moodle. I am working on a course designed the following way:

• Main courses with e-learning, quiz, etc ... that looks like any other course.
  • Video tutorial repository. In this repository, there are almost 100 video tutorials in mp4/swf/fflv format.
So far, what I have done is to upload the video tutorials as part of the course.
However, since each tutorial can be used in different courses, the best solution would be to upload the videos to some repository and to include a link to the videos, from the course.
Could you please explain me/point me to the doc so that I can perform this?
Thanks a lot.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Julien Quester-Semeon

Re: Video tutorials repository

by Dominique-Alain Jan -
Picture of Testers

Hello Julien,

Welcome to Moodle.

Could you tell me which version of Moodle you are using. My answer will be different wether you are on 1.9 or 2.0

Regards,

-dajan

In reply to Dominique-Alain Jan

by Julien Quester-Semeon -

Hi,

It is 2.0.

So far I've gone the quick&dirty way: created a course and added the videos in it smile But am pretty sure that there are more adapted ways to do it (maybe some plugin).

Thanks a lot!

In reply to Julien Quester-Semeon

by Dominique-Alain Jan -
Picture of Testers

Hi again Julien,

Because you are using 2.0 (suggest you upgrade to 2.1 at some point) and you want to that

“each tutorial can be used in different courses,...”

effectively

the best solution would be to upload the videos to some repository

On Moodle 2.0, I would suggest either you upload all your videos in your personal files folders or use an external repository. To do that, you have to add a block but you must check before you can use private files in the files picker.

Verify you can use private files in the picker :

1. Go to Site Administration->Plugins->Repositories->Manage Repositories