Strong video based examples of Moodle websites?

Strong video based examples of Moodle websites?

by Zane Good -
Number of replies: 5

Hello All,

I am new to Moodle, but not new to open source, PHP, teaching, etc. If I make a mistake, please forgive me and direct me kindly.

Question: I am involved in ASL (American Sign Language) teaching, which is highly focused on video. I would like to setup a learning website using Moodle (if it ends up being the best platform for my purpose), but would like to see other video-intensive examples. Is Moodle a good platform for video?

Request: Can someone post a list of these types of Moodle websites, please? (Please don't direct me to the list of Moodle websites, since I already went there and no easy way to know what types of teaching goes on).

Thanks in advance for your kind replies...

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Zane Good

Re: Strong video based examples of Moodle websites?

by Frankie Kam -
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Zane

I have two Moodle 1.9.x courses to share with you that can show you Moodle's capabilities with video.

To access them, use the
Username: student
password: moodle

1. Movie Editing course with Movie Maker

What's "special" about this course is that it shows your Youtube videos and offline-local-hard-disk videos on the same page. You can see an example here. This is my novelty which allows the instructor to store the local videos in the c:\videos folder of a PC. This means that for a low-bandwidth connection, the student can access Moodle and then access the local hard-disk video without any lag time.

Of course it isn't a portable solution if the users are Mac or Linux users. But this works for me and my students in the computer lab which is a more controlled environment.

2. Using the Thirdparty Media Player mod

Click here to see the use of the Media Play on my Intensive English site. Go ahead, have a poke around.

This mod allows you to create highly-customisable play lists.