1.4.3 VS 1.5 for new installation?...

1.4.3 VS 1.5 for new installation?...

by Colin Brumelle -
Number of replies: 6
Hello!

I am a software developer at the Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design (http://www.eciad.ca) in Vancouver BC, and we are looking to start using moodle for our online courses in the near future. The question I am debating is if we should wait for 1.5 to come out, or just roll with the current release. We would be making some pretty extensive graphical and layout changes to moodle, and it seems like 1.5 and it's new CSS/theme features would make this easier, but stability is important too! What do you developers anticipate an upgrade from 1.4.3 to 1.5 would be like? Lastly, what other additional features are likely to make it into the final 1.5 release that could help sway this decision either way?

Thanks for any advice, and thank you all for making such a great open source project!

Colin Brumelle
ECIAD
http://www.eciad.ca
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Colin Brumelle

Re: 1.4.3 VS 1.5 for new installation?...

by John Papaioannou -
Hi Colin,

My (admittedly a trifle biased) opinion is that you should go with the 1.5 release. The things taken into account for this are:

• 1.5 will be out in about a month most likely.
  • Those pretty extensive gfx changes you talk about will be infinitely easier to do with the new refactored themes and CSS of 1.5. It isn't just a question of how easy it will be to do the same things in 1.4 and 1.5; more than that, 1.5 provides many hooks you can use to enrich the layout with CSS (and of course it actually uses only a small fraction of them, since using all your toys at the same time invariably leads to tasteless results).
  • Other major features that you might find useful is the new instant messaging system and the greater freedom offered to block developers with the new "Blocks 2" core. You will find it a lot easier to add custom stuff to your installation through blocks now.