trying to understand moodle's .php files

trying to understand moodle's .php files

by pritish jain -
Number of replies: 25

hello I am new to moodle and i want to learn how it works i just want to what does core.php actually does? any help will be appreciated. i am workin on moodle 2.0

Average of ratings: -
In reply to pritish jain

Re: trying to understand moodle's .php files

by pritish jain -

Hello everyone

One more thing i would like to ask. how images uploaded are stored in moodle . which directotry they use and how it works, actually i want to download these images using other files  and I need to know where  they actually go.

In reply to pritish jain

by Justin Wyllie -

Hi Pritish

On your second question:

if you are using the file picker to upload and save images via a form ( http://docs.moodle.org/dev/Using_the_File_API_in_Moodle_forms) they will likely get stored in Moodle's file system.   However I don't see why you could not capture the uploaded files and save them to a directory of your choice. Though you not then get the benefits of using the FIle API.

If the files you want are in Moodle's file system you'll need to use the API to get them back - for low-level access the relevant files  are /lib/filestorage.php and /lib/stored_file. The table is prefix_files.  Moodle has some way of storing files in a directory system under your moodle data directory with names based on a hash of the contents -  which makes it sensible to use the API rather than try to extract them directly. I *think* there is a higher level API file browser in /lib/filelib.php.

These doc links seem to apply:

http://docs.moodle.org/dev/File_API

http://docs.moodle.org/dev/Using_the_file_API

These are only pointers

Justin Wyllie

In reply to Justin Wyllie

by pritish jain -

thanks justin i think i can get it now

In reply to pritish jain

by pritish jain -