License doubt

License doubt

by Marc Rigat -
Number of replies: 10

Hi,

Last Moodle version is under GNU GPLv3. How can they upgrade from GPLv2 version? All contribuitors give permission for license upgrade?

Thanks in advance, Marc.

რეიტინგების საშუალო: -
In reply to Marc Rigat

Re: License doubt

by Howard Miller -
Core developers სურათი Documentation writers სურათი Particularly helpful Moodlers სურათი Peer reviewers სურათი Plugin developers სურათი
I'm sure that there was a lengthy discussion about this but it must have been several years ago. Is there a particular reason why you bring this up I wonder?

I am no expert, but I thought that V2 had a clause in it allowing you to use "any later version".
In reply to Howard Miller

by Marcus Green -
Core developers სურათი Particularly helpful Moodlers სურათი Plugin developers სურათი Testers სურათი

Earlier versions of the Moodle licence block made reference to later versions of the GPL. This is taken from a 2008 Moodle code file

This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
(at your option) any later version.

The move from V2 to V3 makes very little difference to most people.

Marcus

by Marc Rigat -

Hi,

It doesn't matter. I'm studying a Degree about Free Software and I used Moodle like student many times. I don't know how upgrading GPL v2 Moodle(1.x) to GPL v3 Moodle(2.x) .

The clausule "any later version" is optional.

I'm programming in Php language and some times I rewrite php files under GPL v2 version. I undestand that I can't upgrade to GPL v3. How moodle can upgrade GPL v2 to v3? All contribuitors gave permission?

Thank, Marc

Sorry for my english skill

In reply to Marc Rigat

by Howard Miller -
Core developers სურათი Documentation writers სურათი Particularly helpful Moodlers სურათი Peer reviewers სურათი Plugin developers სურათი