A Nice Web CSS Editor Page in Textpattern

A Nice Web CSS Editor Page in Textpattern

by Urs Hunkler -
Number of replies: 4
Picture of Core developers

Hi,

recently I started working with the CMS Textpattern. It offers an integrated CSS webform. This could be the Moodle way too to go for easy CSS editing, couldn't it?

moodle_css_in_textpattern_s.png

You can click on the image to see a bigger one in a new tab/window.

Urs

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Urs Hunkler

Re: A Nice Web CSS Editor Page in Textpattern

by David Scotson -

I'm a bit skeptical of Textpattern's CSS editor. For anyone who actually understands CSS I can't see it being an improvement over their desktop tools (whether that means vi or CSSEdit or Dreamweaver) followed by a file upload.

On the other hand, for absolute beginners, who just want the basic theme in their 'corporate' colour-scheme plus a customised logo this is way overkill. The current ability to upload logo.jpg and have it appear automatically combined with the previously discussed 'colour sets' (where a small number, say between 1 and 4, colours can be specified via a web interface and inserted--or 'cascaded'-- into the CSS).

There is also the possibility of leaving these choices to user preference, to aid those with impaired vision (amongst others), but, without wanting to sound like a broken record, this will be all be impossible if the styles continue to be defined anywhere else but in CSS.

In reply to David Scotson

by Urs Hunkler -
Picture of Core developers

Hi David,

as you say it doesn't make much sense to take it over to Moodle identically. I liked the interface and I am shure it is useful for small and fast changes. Used as a filter to show up some basic adjustments and to hide the complex CSS file/s in the background I see a chance to get rid off the need to use php within the CSS file/s.