uploading video into lesson

uploading video into lesson

von Katie Fraser -
Anzahl Antworten: 4

Hello, I have no experience with this and have been searching forums and moodle docs for some instruction but can't seem to find anything. I know it's out there because I keep seeing posts stating there a lot of discussion in forums on this, but I can't find where... Could someone point me in the right direction?

Many thanks

Als Antwort auf Katie Fraser

Re: uploading video into lesson

von Kim Salinas -
Nutzerbild von Testers

Hi Katie

What version of Moodle are you using? Basically you will use the HTML editor to add multimedia.

Als Antwort auf Kim Salinas

von Katie Fraser -

Hi Kim,
Thank you for your reply. I'm using moodle 2.0. and Internet Explorer. I've tried using the html editor but can't get videos to upload (though I have used html editor just fine to upload photos).  I guess I figured I would have to compress the file someohow (zipping it doesn't seem to work) or convert it to a different format (they are currently mpg's...)? --neither of which are familiar processes to me...The video is about 3 min long.

Also, to provide a little more background on what I'm trying to do -- I would like a thumbail (or hyperlink if that's not possible) of the video to play. Perhaps something that a student could click on from inside a lesson. I'm also not sure what type of activity is best for hosting a video. Basically, I want the video to play as an introduction to a course, and then I want students to begin a series of lesson activities.  I do not want the video to auto-play.

If you have any thoughts on how to accomplish this I would be most grateful! I'm really at a loss. Thank you -

Als Antwort auf Kim Salinas

von Glenys Hanson -

Hi Katie,