I had high hopes for this other users setting as it looked like it would solve the issue of having invisible teacher evaluator/observers in the classroom who could see the gradebook, look at activity settings, etc but prevent email assignment/quiz submission notifications. It seems to do all that which is great, however, when if User A is assigned the role of teacher in course A when she logs in she sees her My Courses list. But once I assign her the manager role in course B via other users, she then sees the full list of courses for the full site, rather than her My Courses page upon logging in. She can can only access those courses to which she is associated, but that very helpful course overview is lost.
It makes sense if the user is assigned the role of manager at the systemwide context that they wouldn't have a My courses page since they aren't really enrolled in courses, but I wonder why having the role of manager in one course seems to negate the permission of viewing My Courses completely even for those users who are truly enrolled in courses. Any way to change this?