Why do only certain items have multiplicator & offset boxes?

Why do only certain items have multiplicator & offset boxes?

by MP Rogers -
Number of replies: 5

I am relatively new to Moodle, so forgive my ignorance ... but in my gradebook, some of my items have multiplicator and offset boxes, some do not.  The ones that have the boxes are lacking a calculator icon in the Actions column, and vice-versa.

What have I done?  smile  And more to the point, what can I do so that I can add an offset (aka bonus points) to my categories.

Thanks in advance for any assistance,

Michael

In reply to MP Rogers

Re: Why do only certain items have multiplicator & offset boxes?

by Itamar Tzadok -

There are two types of grade items in the gradebook. Those which are generated automatically for the activities you create in your course and those you add manually in the gradebook (including categories for which the category total is the grade item). The former support multiplicator and offset but not formulas (aka calculator smile); the latter support formulas by means of which you can offset or multiply and many other things.

Now, whatever grade manipulation you do the adjustment cannot push the grade above the max or below the min. In the activity grade items the max/min is determined in the activity settings and cannot be changed in the gradebook. In the gradebook grade items you can set any max/min you want.

So, you can offset the grade of an activity grade item but those who scored max points will not benefit from this bonus. If by any chance you actually mean extra credit then it's a whole different story.

hth smile

In reply to Itamar Tzadok

by MP Rogers -

Thank you, Itamar, that is very helpful.

So, if I have, say, a quiz score that I have added manually, is it correct that I cannot add an offset directly to it?  I could use that in a calculation somewhere else, but if I just entered 50 scores, and wanted to bump them all up by an offset, I couldn't do so?