Is the Wiki the best tool for this assignment?

Is the Wiki the best tool for this assignment?

by John Harris -
Number of replies: 13

I am a middle school math teacher new to moodle.  I have just completed my first chapter done in conjunction with Moodle.  Great results.  After each chapter I used to have each student write me a 150 word letter wher they could discuss the chapter, how they felt about it, how they can improve, and how I can improve.  I wanted to bring this activity to Moodle.  I thought a student wiki would be the best platform to use becasue we could take a single letter and turn it into a year long discussion between the student and myself.  No other student should be able to view this.

On the kid's end it is working great.  I have one class out of four working on this assignment tonight. 

On my end it is not so great.  I have 68 kids in the course and only 14 have the assignment tonight. 

First, the list of other Wikis is long and random, not alphbetical or by any groups and can't be sorted.  Is there an easier way? 

Second, I have to look at each wiki to see if they are finished.  Is there a way to see a list of recently edited wiki's?  I tried logs but sometimes it says "wiki edit" and will link right ot there wiki, others times it doesn't even though a letter is there.

Third, Is this the best activity for what I want?

Thanks to all that can help!   This forum is great!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Harris

Re: Is the Wiki the best tool for this assignment?

by Julie Miller -

John,

You might consider the journal activity instead. To my knowledge, that's more of a private exchange between you and the student.

Julie Miller
Mukwonago, WI

In reply to John Harris

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

John - how about the online text assignment?

In reply to Mary Cooch

by Julie Miller -