Emails not going to all enrolled

Emails not going to all enrolled

by tim hamilton -
Number of replies: 7

My apologies if this is in the wrong place. I am a novice admin with an email problem. I have read through the FAQs for beginning Admins and couldn't find an answer.

I am running 2.0 on a self-installation (Simple Scripts) on a hosting service (Bluehost). I don't use an SMTP. I left those lines blank in the Email settings, relying on Moodle's own Php program.

I've created four forums (two courses with social formats and two created as Activities inside course). The problem is that some people are receiving the emails and some are not. Out of 119 total users, about half didn't receive the mailing today. I've made subscription mandatory in each of the forums.

Here is an example from the error log of one failure.

ERROR! Error: mod/forum/cron.php: Could not send out digest mail to user 40 (charles.radcliffe@tutorvista.com)... not trying again. Processing email digest for user 41... Invalid address: 1success. Processing email digest for user 42... Invalid address: 1SMTP Error: Data not accepted. ERROR: SMTP Error: Data not accepted.<p>SMTP server error: Administrative prohibition </p>

Can someone point me in the right direction, either in my settings or in the forums here?

Much obliged,
Tim

Average of ratings: -
In reply to tim hamilton

Re: Emails not going to all enrolled

by John Andrewartha -

Tim,

Set the smtp host if you can.  That will at least make the Mail Transfer Unit write reports to it's log file.

Next ask your host to ensure that the local mailer accepts mail from your domain.  Common problem.  IE Sendmail relay-domains, make sure they have there local-host-names set as well.  Make sure they restart the mailer for the changes to take effect.

Post a test message from a forum. If it wont go ask for a tail of the hosts maillog for that time.

If the mailer says NO it will tell you why.

Let me know how you go.

In reply to John Andrewartha