Need Help With Custom SQL Query

Need Help With Custom SQL Query

by Leigh Dragoon -
Number of replies: 3

I'm really at my wit's end here.  Basically, the situation is this: I am currently using a feedback form to gather a very important piece of info from our course users. I have written a custom SQL query which I use in a report page to display the user's data from this one feedback form table field.  As it stands, with the sql query in the report page, it works perfectly and I can pull the data from the correct table field, no problem.  Great, right?

Well, the problem is that I will need several of these queries in the future, and I'd rather they were in their own tidy little lib file as opposed to all grouped in the report page.  So I want to create a function that sits in the lib file to run the SQL query and output the result, and then call that function from the report page.

I cannot figure this out to save my life. I will admit, I am a total beginner level PHP coder. I feel like I'm missing some completely simple, obvious problem. I have included my code below:

This is the query which sits on the report page and works perfectly:

$sql = "SELECT
fc . *,
fk . *,
fv.item,
fv.value,
u . *
FROM
{$CFG->prefix}feedback_completed fc,
{$CFG->prefix}feedback fk,
{$CFG->prefix}feedback_value fv,
{$CFG->prefix}user u
WHERE
u.id = {print_object($user->id)} AND fv.completed = fc.id AND fc.userid = {print_object($user->id)} AND fv.item = 3";

$dprnumber = get_record_sql($sql);

I call it a little further down the page and print it into a table:

$licenseNo = $dprnumber->value;

Again, this works, perfectly, every time.

So here's what I'm trying to put into the lib file:

function test_function($userid){   
global $CFG;

$sql = "SELECT
fc . *,
fk . *,
fv.item,
fv.value,
u . *
FROM
{$CFG->prefix}feedback_completed fc,
{$CFG->prefix}feedback fk,
{$CFG->prefix}feedback_value fv,
{$CFG->prefix}user u
WHERE