More complete guide to backup/restore?

More complete guide to backup/restore?

by The Tinman -
Number of replies: 1

I'm running Moodle on Windows, using the self installing kit 1.9 (from http://download.moodle.org/windows/).  Since I'm not very experienced in db admin, I've setup a second computer to work out the details of backing up and restoring.

On the real server, I've backed up the sql database to a file and transferred the file to my backup server.

I ran the same installer on the backup test server, and then went to Server->Database-> and tried to import my database backup using the import function.  The instructions on this page (http://docs.moodle.org/en/Site_restore) make it seem super easy, but I feel like I'm not even looking at the same program they're describing..

1. Open the database to restore
  2. Click the SQL tab.
  3. On the "SQL"-page , unclick the show query here again.
  4. Browse to your backup of the database.
  5. Click Go

when I go to Server -> Database the first screen I see says Localhost at the top.  I click on Databases and see a database called Moodle.  I then click on the sql tab, I then uncheck show this query here again.  On this tab, there is no where to browse to a backup.  I only see an option to run queries against server "localhost".  where am I supposed to browse?

I assume I need to import, so I go to Import.  Here I browse to my backup file and then press GO.   I get an error saying "moodle" database already exists.

I wiped out everything, and did it all again.  This time when creating the db during install, I named it Moodle2, hoping I could restore my original moodle db and then change the db being used in config.php to use moodle instead of moodle2.

When I did that I get a message saying ERROR: Database Connection Failed. and it directs me to inspect config.php