Course Names - Good Practice Examples

Course Names - Good Practice Examples

by Anna Weber -
Number of replies: 3

When setting up a new course in Moodle default full and short name of the course is shown. These default names consist of words and numbers. I had a discussion recently that in our case it is better not to use any numbers. I have no experience in course mapping but somehow I sense that it might be useful to use numbers in  the course names however I missing strong arguments why to do this. In my case the courses are unlikely to be changed or updated often. Just later on additional courses and course categories might be added. Can you share any good practice examples regarding this matter?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Anna Weber

Re: Course Names - Good Practice Examples

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Dear Anna,

Pragmatically I believe that you should not restrict yourself but use whatever naming you require that makes sense to the user.

I have organised a short name prefix in the past to help ensure that they were unique across the organisation, such as 'EN_' for English Department, 'IT_' for IT Department etc.  The course creator would then have a free reign on the rest.

Cheers,

Gareth

In reply to Anna Weber

by Deleted user -

Good question - it seems so simple doesn't it to setup course names. However, down the road the choice of naming structure can present problems for both users, teachers and administrators. Here's my view...

1. If you were providing courses in the physical world then these would probably be listed in a 'catalogue' of some kind. The names in the catalogue should be meaningful and attractive to the potential 'users' - they are acting as 'advertising' and 'marketing' devices. So, in a Moodle space the smae should apply.