Windows server: Moodle doesn't work on Windows 7

Windows server: Moodle doesn't work on Windows 7

by Jim Huether -
Number of replies: 6

I've tried to install the latest Moodle 1.9x from the moodle.org site to my Windows 7 PC, and it doesn't work!

I'm not a PHP programmer, so I'm looking for an installation procedure that works! That is, a step by step process that will load and install moodle on my PC so I can use it as a sandbox to play around with things.

I have looked at a number of the forum discussion where people had problems installing moodle on Windows 7, and I don't see any of them where it seems it was successful. Several people have actually suggested solutions for Windows Vista instead of Windows 7. Does Moodle not work on Windows 7?

If anyone has a tried and true way to load and install moodle on Windows 7 to where it works (including apache and SQL and PHP of course), please, please let me know how. I am not a PHP programmer, so solutions that require changing parameters in files or modifying PHP code won't work for me. (For example I have read one solution that talks about conflicts with port 80, however it seems the installation should check whether port 80 is in use, and use another port if so. I don't feel comfortable trying to change which port Moodle uses)

I will greatly appreciate an answer that works.

James

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jim Huether

Re: Windows server: Moodle doesn't work on Windows 7

by Peter Allen -

Hi Jim

I'm definately no expert, but I installed onto my Windows7 pc at home and it works. I had a couple of issues:

1 - when I restarted my pc next day I had lost my moodle index, nothing would show and to cut a long story short, I deleted the whole moodle folder and reinstalled and it works OK now.

2 - When I start XAMPP it tries to start moodle and says 'Nothing to do', but then starts the XAMPP server and it works fine, I don't stop the server or moodle when I finish.