Template design challenge: re-useable event attendance checker

Template design challenge: re-useable event attendance checker

by Ted Holzmann -
Number of replies: 3

Hello Quiz module users/developers!

I am an Online Developer at a small university in South Carolina.

A dean of one college within the university would like to use a quiz format to monitor student participation (attendance/listening online/non-attendance) at certain functions. Those three options would be the multi-choice "answers." The question content would be the dates and speakers of the events.

The requirement for participation is based upon the number of credit hours a student is enrolled. So each student would need to choose the "attendance quiz" for his/her level (of which there are three).  So, a three credit hour student gets 100% if 3 events are "attended" or "listened online." A seven credit hour student gets 100% if 7 events are "attended" or "listened online." A student with more than seven hours must "attend" or "listen" to at least 9 events.

This set of three quizzes needs to be re-created each semester, based upon the event calendar. There may be up to 55 possible events to which a student would need to respond. Creating all 55 questions and turning them into quizzes each semester is a very tedious job!

Here's the task: Design a template (Word or Excel versions '07 or '10) that can be given to any secretary to enter the event calendar items (there were 54 events for this Fall), and which will then create one multiple-choice question per event, with two options getting 100%, finally generating the completed XML/GIFT uploadable quizzes.

I have experimented with a Word template, but in Multiple-Choice questions it allows for only one correct answer. In this case both "Attended" and "Listened Online" get full credit. IF the response "Not attended" could be made the default, that would be super.

Perhaps someone has already developed something of this nature?