How do you change Servers?

How do you change Servers?

by Bruce Selzler -
Number of replies: 8

Hello Team,

I'm very new to Moodle, and have looked through the forums but cannot find an answer to this question.

I've set up Moodle on a very low end system in order to learn it, and test the functionality. I'm also using it as a demonstration platform to show other teachers at my school how they can utilize online learning.  I am very impressed with the features and tool set of Moodle.  But its clear that I need to move the system to a more robust server.

My question is, how do I do this?  I've already created classes and lessons and I have other teachers doing the same.  I can set up a fresh install of Moodle easily enough, but how to do I get all of the data and content we are creating to the new server?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Bruce Selzler

Re: How do you change Servers?

by Julian Whitehead -
This is a question that I would really like the answer to also.
I am guessing that it would be as simple as:
1) Use phpMyAdmin to Export a copy of your database
2) Add the database to your new host - not sure how to do this as phpMyAdmin looks quite complex.
3) Upload new moodle
4) Copy across the moodle data directory (and keep it in the same location).
5) Set up Config.php
Shouldn't it then work as was?
I am going to try it soon, (probably over Xmas), but would really appreaciate guidance also!
Cheers
Jools
In reply to Julian Whitehead

by Jay S -
This scares me.

What about all of my hacks, I exported the DB and imported into a new one. Then I copied moodle an moodledata pasted them as test and testdata. Changed the config file, no go.

by Michael Penney -
Two ways. Julian discusses one.