A new grading format

A new grading format

by Mark Barnes -
Number of replies: 7
I'm a teacher at a community college in Arkansas with a pretty big question...

Over the last year I've developed a new grading and assignment delivery model for my classes that I've just started implementing this semester. The model is based on models of challenge, progress, and reward that have been used in role-playing games for decades.

Basically, students grades are calculated additively, with each assignment worth a set amount of "experience points" based on its relative difficulty. Students are awarded a percentage of those experience points based on their relative success in completing the assignment. As students gain experience, they "level up." As they level up, they gain access to progressively more difficult assignments (that are worth greater amounts of points), and they also gain abilities that allow them to alter the course requirements in their favor (e.g., free absences, essay rewrites, etc.).

This classroom model gives students freedom (or at least the illusion of freedom) to choose their assignments from a pre-selected list in whatever order they want. They can progress at their own pace, and their final grade in the class is based on the last level they achieve by the end of the semester.

My questions is this: is there a way to use Moodle to help me run this class? I'm currently using Moodle as my primary delivery method for assignments and as a hub to allow students to discuss work and ask questions, but I can't figure out if there's a way to translate the grading system into the Moodle gradebook. I also have no way to set assignment time limits on an individual basis - I'd like to create a system whereby an individual student will select an assignment through Moodle, and his/her deadline for completing that assignment will be based on the day she/he chooses to start the assignment.

Any suggestions? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated smile