"Grade all" option not showing for essay quiz questions

"Grade all" option not showing for essay quiz questions

by Simon Bourn -
Number of replies: 12
Using version 1.9.9

Wondering how to streamline manual marking of quiz/essay questions. I have read in other forum posts about a "grade all" option which I presume allows you to see all the students answers to a question at once, rather than having to open every single question for every single student individually, which seems very time consuming.

I am fairly new to Moodle - sorry if this is obvious, but I can't find a way to do it.

Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Simon Bourn

Re: "Grade all" option not showing for essay quiz questions

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
  1. Go to the quiz.
  2. Click on the Results tab.
  3. Click on the Manual Grading sub-tab.
  4. Select a question.
  5. Click on grade all.
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Kimber Warden -

Is there any way to grade multiple essays on a single student's quiz without clicking on every answer, grading, and saving, before moving on to the next essay? Depending on network speed, this can be an agonizingly slow process.

We use a lot of essays in our assessments and an excessive number of clicks required to grade them is a dealbreaker for our teachers.

In reply to Kimber Warden

by Dina Koble -

Did you ever find an answer? It's one year later and I'm having the exact same problem.  This CANNOT be how they expect it to work or no one will EVER have students use the essay Moodle again after they complete their first set of grading.

In reply to Dina Koble

by Elizabeth Forys -

I agree, the "Grade All" used to work well before the Moodle upgrade.  Is there another way to post this question?

In reply to Elizabeth Forys

by Elizabeth Forys -

I figured it out.  You need to keep going to Navigation until you to;